Arkansas voted yesterday to increase the state's minimum wage rate. With over 68% of voters casting a "Yes" vote for Issue 5, the Arkansas minimum wage rate is increasing from its current rate of $8.50 per hour to $9.25 per hour on January 1, 2019. The rate will continue increasing each year until reaching $11.00 per hour in 2021. Employers must take steps now to prepare for the minimum wage increase effective in just a few weeks. There are penalties and liabilities for failing to pay covered employees minimum wages for all hours worked in a workweek. Contact an Attorney at CGWG for more information on wage & hour compliance questions, such as minimum wage, overtime, tipped employees, and others.